Showing posts with label Book Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Book Reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Book Review: Pretty in Plaid by Jen Lancaster




The subtitle "A life, a witch, and a wardrobe, or the wonder years before the condescending, egomanical, self centered smart-ass phase." One of the funniest memoir I have ever read.  Jen takes you from her early fashion decisions and disasters at age eight to her blunders and discoveries at age forty.  As a lover of fashion and someone with my own fashion disaster stories I laughed all the way through this book.

Book Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth


Wow where do I begin? I loved this book! Tris must choose which faction she wants to join and that one choice will change her whole life.  Soon to be a major motion picture starring Shailene Woodley from the TV show The Secret Life of an American Teenager and the Fault in our Stars movie. One of the best and most Popular Dystopian books out there.  Did I mention Four?  You will love him.  This book will definitely go on my favorites shelf.  

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Book Review: The Perks of Being a Wallflower






Freshman year of high school can be tough.  But if you're one of the lucky ones who meets some great friends it can be a blast.  Charlie is one of the lucky ones. Written as series of letter you get to know Charlie and his friends and family.  I personally loved the concept of the letters as opposed to regular chapters.  It was fun and different.  I totally didn't see the surprise twist at the end but looking back am not surprised.  I really enjoyed this book and look forward to seeing he movie.

Sunday, February 24, 2013

Book Review: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

The author has managed to write a love story on par with the notebook. But this isn’t your typical love story. This isn’t a story full of romance. This is a story of heartbreak, theirs and yours. This is a story of two kids who live everyday to not what society would deem the fullest but what they decide is the fullest. It shouldn’t be any other way. This book lives up to all the hype and I highly recommend it.

Monday, February 4, 2013

Book Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Wow I am at a loss for words after reading this book. I really liked it but the ending completely blew me away. I didn't see that coming. If you like a really great mystery than this book is for you.

Friday, January 18, 2013

Book Review: Hearse and Buggy by Laura Bradford

I love books set in Amish country and mysteries set there are hard to find.  This one didn't disappoint.  I really liked the main characters and can't wait to see what happens between Claire and her two love interests.  I saw a few editing flaws but other than that I really enjoyed this book and look forward to the rest of the series.

Friday, January 11, 2013

Book Review: Offside by M.G. Higgins

 Faith is just your average teen with her hands full of problems and a soccer ball at her feet. Between helping her single mom care for her younger siblings, being behind in her schoolwork and being teased by Caitlin life is hectic. All Faith wanted was to play soccer. Luckily for her Coach Berg saw her potential and moved her from the bench to midfield. If only all her problems could be solved so easily. M.G. Higgins has written a fantastic story that any teen girl can relate to.  I would love to see more books with these characters. 






Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Book review: The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom

A book I couldn't stop reading.  I will truly miss some of these characters.  Set in the antebellum south, the lives of the masters and the slaves of Tall Oaks plantation are brought to life.  The author makes you feels their pain and their happiness.  One of the best books I have ever read.

Sunday, December 9, 2012

Book review: In her shoes by Jennifer Wiener


Two sisters who couldn't be any different try and make their way through life after the death of their mother. Add a heart broken father, missing grandmother and evil step mother and you have the recipe for drama. As an older sibling i could relate to the character of Rose and everything she went through with Maggie. I just hope my brother never sleeps with any of my boyfriends. Overall a good book and great characters.

Friday, December 7, 2012

Book review: Super Rich : A Guide to having it all by Russell Simmons

If you read Russell's first book "Do Me" and enjoyed it than you won't be disappointed with "Super Rich." Russell shares wth you his path to a higher state of consciousness that he believes will lead you to greater wealth.

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Book Review: A Winter Wonderland by Fern Michaels, etc. (Anthology)

I like Fern Michaels but I will be honest I only read this book because of Leslie Meier.  If you're a fan of Leslie Meier's Lucy Stone series you won't be disappointed. The Christmas thief is short but sweet and well worth the read.  Lucy's daughter Elizabeth gets herself entangled in a mess and Mom Lucy and Miss Tilly come to the rescue.  I love the character of Miss Tilly, in my opinion one of the funniest characters in fiction.  She and Grandma Mazur from the Stephanie Plum series are absolute scene stealers.

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Book review: The Frugalista Files

 Just finished reading the Frugalista Files by Natalie P. McNeal and I highly recommend it. A really insightful and entertaining look into the author life. She makes you feel like anybody can be debt free.